Date: 26th March 2019 at 6:23pm
Written by:

Two Norwich City players have been nominated for individual awards for their achievements in the 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship season.

Teemu Pukki has been nominated for the Championship player of the season award and Max Aarons has been nominated for the EFL Young player of the season award.

The nominations come hot on the heels of three City players being named earlier in the Championship Team Of The Season. That’s more than any other team with both Leeds and Sheffield United having two each.

Pukki arrived on a free from Danish club, Brondby in the summer in what initially appeared a bit of an underwhelming signing, announced as it was on the same day as the loan announcement of Jordan Rhodes.

However, what followed, basically as soon as he started playing was an incredible scoring streak that has seen him plunder 24 goals and 9 assists in 35 games, with eight more to play.

Teemu will face competition from Sheffield United’s Billy Sharp and Birmingham City’s Che Adams.

Meanwhile, Aarons has been nominated for the Young Player award after a stellar breakout season that started with a goal on his first-team debut against Cardiff City in the Carabao Cup.

His league debut came in the white-hot atmosphere of the East Anglian derby at Portman Road back in September, a game that ended in a 1-1 draw. Since then he has started the next 35 games and just got better and better.

He’s added 2 league goals to his tally as well and has been the subject of Premier League speculation from the likes of Spurs and Arsenal.

Max faces competition for the award from Harry Wilson (Derby County) and James Justin (Luton Town).

As the sponsor of the award, EA Sports will be hosting an online vote, which goes live on Wednesday 27 March, equating to 25% of the overall result, with the other 75% made up of votes from the EFL Awards judging panel.

So make sure you vote for Max. We’ll post a link on our twitter feed @VitalNorwich and I’ll update this article too.

The winners will be announced on the evening of the awards night, taking place on Sunday 7 April at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London.


Click for the forum

Your Comment