Date: 16th April 2018 at 8:28am
Written by:

James Maddison has missed out on the EFL Young Player of the Year Award but was named in the Team of the year at last night’s EFL awards at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane in London, last night.

The winner of both the Player of the season and the Young Player of the Season was Fulham’s 17-year-old Ryan Sessegnon.

The flying winger has scored 14 goals this season in 46 appearances for Fulham, helping the Cottagers to the brink of automatic promotion. He has also made his England U21 debut, along with Maddison.

When you consider that Sessegnon was also up against Ruben Neves and Maddison in the young player category, it shows you what sort of season the lad has had.

In terms of the team of the season though, City’s James Maddison was among those honoured, which is another award for his mantelpiece, after previously being named in the Championship team of the year.

The 21-year-old Canary midfielder scored his 15th goal of the season against Villa last week and is seemingly a shoe-in for the Barry Butler Memorial Trophy in two weeks’ time.

Also named in the EFL team of the year was ex-Canary John Ruddy, who left Norwich last May when his contract expired along with Ryan Bennett. Both players were picked up on free transfers by Wolves and have played a huge part in a Wolves season that culminated in promotion to the Premier League yesterday with a 2-0 win over Birmingham. They are now just one point off being named Champions, which is surely now just a formality.

Well done, Madders! I don’t know what we’d have done without you.

Here’s the full EFL Team Of the Year:

John Ruddy, Ryan Sessegnon, Charlie Mulgrew, Conor Coady, Nathan Byrne, Bradley Dack, Ruben Neves, James Maddison, Billy Kee, Bobby Reid, Adebayo Akinfenwa.

You can read all the news from the night here at


Click for the forum

Your Comment